Monday, May 16, 2022

Odisha govt gives compulsory retirement to 5 more officials

Bhubaneswar : As many as five more government officials have been given compulsory retirement on grounds of inefficiency and dereliction of duty.

Reportedly, the five officers given compulsory retirement include OAS Officer, DSP, Police Inspector, and 2 Municipality Executive. Strict action has been taken against a total of 151 officials as of now.

  1. Former Tahsildar of Sundargarh’s Bonai OAS Officer Sushil Kumar Kujur. The MNREGA funds were misappropriated by Kujur while he was the BDO of Dhenkanal’s Sadar block. He produced fake documents on tree plantation programs in various villages due to which the government suffered a loss of Rs 24.22 lakh. He was arrested and taken into custody.
  2. Odisha Police Service Officer Rabindra Kumar Sethi, who has been appointed as Deputy superintendent of police (DSP) at Kalahandi Investigative Units for Crime against Women(IUCAW). He was caught red-handed by the anti-corruption department while accepting a bribe of Rs 5,000 following which he was arrested and taken into judicial custody.
  3. Bangamunda Police Inspector of Balangir district Binod Bihari Nayak. He was caught by a team of anti-corruption officials near Bargarh toll gate while he was traveling from Bangamunda to Kuchinda in a Maruti Ciaz car. The anti-corruption officials recovered Rs. 2,06,220 cash from his possession. During the search at his official residence in Bangamunda, Rs 3,80,920 was recovered. A total of Rs 5,87,140 was recovered from his possession. He was arrested on November 30, 2021.
    Further investigation revealed that the Maruti Ciaz car (OD-15K-6111), in which he was traveling, was registered after a youth identified as Mohammad Malim, son of Nasir of Sambalpur district. Mohammad has four cases registered against him at Dhanupalli police station and one at Sambalpur Sadar police station.
  4. A former executive officer of Basudevpur municipality in Bhadrak district Tapas Ranjan Jena.
  5. A former executive officer of Karanjia Notified Area Council (NAC) in Mayurbhanj district Vijayakrishna Nayak.

While the OAS Officer, DSP, Police Inspector, Municipality Executive of Basudevpur have been forced to retire due to incompetence, dishonesty, and financial irregularities. Similarly, another Municipality Executive of Karanjia (NAC) was found guilty of incompetence, negligence in duty, moral misconduct, illicit relations with women, and violation of the Odisha Civil Service Code, 1955.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has always given emphasis on maintaining high morals and integrity in the field of public life. He has always insisted on zero-tolerance against incompetent and corrupt officials. He has continuously given efforts to provide services to the people through a transparent, efficient, and accountable administration.

Notably, earlier on February 8, 2022, five government officials including engineer, Child Development Project Officer (CDPO), Anganwadi Supervisor, Police Inspector, and Revenue Supervisor were given compulsory retirement on grounds of inefficiency and dereliction of duty.

Related Articles

IAS officer Pooja Singhal suspended after arrest in money laundering case

New Delhi: A day after being arrested in a PMLA case, Jharkhand mining secretary Pooja Singhal was suspended from the Indian Administrative Services (IAS). The action...

1.42 kg of brown sugar seized, 3 drug peddlers arrested

Khurda: The Special Task Force (STF) seized 1.42 kg of brown sugar and arrested three drug peddlers from Dadhimachhagadia under Khurda Sadar Police Station today. On...

Allahabad HC raps Taj Mahal petitioner who demanded ASI to open...

Lucknow, : The Lucknow Bench of the Allahabad High Court has rapped a petitioner to not misuse the public interest litigation system, who demanded...

ECI issues notification for election to 57 RS seats including three...

New Delhi, : Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday issued a notification for elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats, including three from Odisha. The...

Campbell Wilson appointed as CEO & MD of Air India

Mumbai, : Tata Sons on Thursday announced the appointment of Campbell Wilson as CEO & MD of Air India. Wilson is currently CEO of Singapore...

‘DigiSaathi’- 24×7 helpline for information on digital payments now enabled on...

Mumbai, : DigiSaathi- a 24×7 helpline for Information on digital payment products and services is setup by NPCI on behalf of a consortium of...

Brajrajnagar bypoll: Candidates of BJD, BJP, Cong to file nominations today

Jharsuguda, : With the nomination process for the Brajrajnagar by-poll ending today, the candidates of the three major political parties-BJD, BJP and Congress will...

Lenovo Yoga AIO 7 updated AMD Ryzen 6000 processor

New Delhi, : Lenovo has updated the Yoga AIO 7 – the 27-inch all-in-one desktop PC with a screen rotatable screen – with new...

IB warns other intelligence agencies over ‘Lashker-E-Khalsa’ recruiting people through FB

New Delhi, : Intelligence Bureau on Tuesday warned the Delhi police and other concerned intelligence agencies over the formation of the group ‘Lashker-E-Khalsa’ on...

TP Southern Odisha Distribution Ltd prepares for possible Cyclone ‘Asani’

Berhampur, : Keeping in view of the probable cyclonic storm ‘Asani’ in the Bay of Bengal, TP Southern Odisha Distribution Limited (TPSODL) has prepared...

Congress leaders to travel on train for party’s chintan shivir in...

New Delhi,  :  Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi and other Congress leaders will travel on a train from Delhi to Rajasthan’s Udaipur for their party’s...

Brajrajnagar by-poll: Kishore Mohanty’s widow Alaka chosen as BJD nominee

Jharsuguda, : The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today announced Alaka Mohanty, widow of sitting MLA Kishore Mohanty, as the party’s candidate for the...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -